How to delete a Facebook account

There are many reasons why you’d want to delete Facebook, whether you’re concerned about your personal data falling into the wrong hands, or you simply don’t want friends and family snooping on old posts and photos.

Whatever your reason, we’ve created this guide to show how you delete your account in a few easy steps. It’s important to note that deleting your account will permanently erase all of your posts, photos, videos and pages associated with your account.

A Pixel 7 Pro handset for below £700

A Pixel 7 Pro handset for below £700

Save £177 on what we consider the best software experience in the smartphone world today, courtesy of Google’s Amazon store.

  • Amazon
  • Was £849
  • Now £672

View Deal

If you’ll potentially want to use your Facebook account again in the future, we strongly recommend deactivating your account instead. Scroll down to the bottom of this page to find the Troubleshooting section, which details how you can deactivate your account instead of deleting.

And lastly, it’s important to note that deleting Facebook will stop you from being able to Meta’s Messenger app, losing all of your contacts and saved messages. You’ll also lose the ability to use Facebook Login for linked accounts such as Spotify and Pinterest. Fortunately, deleting Facebook will have no effect on Instagram, WhatsApp and Threads despite all being owned by Meta.

If you’ve read the above and are still willing to permanently delete your Facebook account, then keep on reading for a detailed guide on how to do so.

What you’ll need: 

  • A Facebook account you don’t want anymore 

The Short Version 

  1. Open your Facebook Settings 
  2. Go to Your Facebook Information 
  3. Click Deactivation and Deletion 
  4. Choose Delete Account 
  5. Enter your password to confirm 

How to delete a Facebook account

  1. Step
    1

    Go to your Facebook feed

    We’ll be using screenshots from the desktop browser version of Facebook, but you can also do this on your phone. Facebook news feed

  2. Step
    2

    Click the arrow in the top right corner

    This should show you a drop-down menu with your account settings. Facebook account settings

  3. Step
    3

    Select Settings & Privacy

    The icon will look like a cog. Facebook account settings

  4. Step
    4

    Select Settings

    Or click the cog icon again. Facebook account settings

  5. Step
    5

    Go to Your Facebook Information

    The tab will be on the left side of the page. Facebook account settings

  6. Step
    6

    Choose Deactivation And Deletion

    You can also download a copy of your data at this stage. Facebook deactivation and deletion options

  7. Step
    7

    Select Delete Account and Continue To Account Deletion

    Alternatively, you can choose to deactivate your account at this stage. Deactivating will disable your account temporarily, but you’ll still be able to use Messenger and recover the account later. Facebook delete account

  8. Step
    8

    Click Delete Account

    This is your last chance to download or transfer any of your account data. Facebook delete account

  9. Step
    9

    Enter your password and hit Continue

    That’s it! You’ve permanently deleted your Facebook account. Facebook confirm delete account

Troubleshooting

Can I delete my account temporarily?

If you’re mostly just looking to take a break from Facebook, or want to use Messenger but don’t want people to visit your profile, there is the option to deactivate your account. You’ll still be able to use Facebook Login to access apps like Spotify and Pinterest but you won’t be able to log into Oculus (now Meta) headsets anymore.

To temporarily deactivate your account, just choose Deactivate Account at step 7. You can then return whenever you feel like it. 

What if I change my mind?

If you’ve deleted your account and changed your mind within 30 days, you can cancel the process and recover your account. However, if 30 days have passed, you’re out of luck and will need to create a new account.

To cancel your account deletion, just log into Facebook and click Cancel Deletion.

Originally posted 2023-08-04 10:25:00.


Posted

in

by